Hamburg, Germany

Bon Voyage


Behind the Music

While the notion of combining music and journalism was new to me, I was instantly inspired by the idea of creating a painting of The Outlaw Ocean through music. Music can underline a mood or emotion, and the reporting and storytelling in this book has so many feelings to express. What’s more is the gratifying notion that the music I create could have a positive impact — both in shedding light on these topics and bolstering future journalism of this kind. I had never considered or encountered anything like this project, and that’s exactly what drew me to it.

About snaer.

Joe Doom and Richie Staples got together in 2015 to create evil, cold black metal. After several failed members, Stephen Baxter was found in 2017 to play the drums. Finally in the summer of 2017, Zach Hornick joined as the guitarist. Then Staples had other priorities and left the band in December of 2017. It then fell on Doom to fill the void and scream wrathful hell into the mic and he is now the vocalist. Matt Glidden on drums and lead guitarist Jeffrey Snader complete their current line up.

The Journalism behind the Music

All music in this project is based on The Outlaw Ocean, a New York Times Best-Selling book by Ian Urbina that chronicles lawlessness at sea around the world. This reporting touches on a diversity of abuses ranging from illegal and overfishing, arms trafficking at sea, human slavery, gun running, intentional dumping, murder of stowaways, thievery of ships and other topics.

Learn More