Athens, Greece

Sea of Sorrow


Behind the Music

Among all the stories of The Outlaw Ocean, the one that resonated with me most was that of Eril Andrade’s in the chapter, “The Middlemen.” A man only hoping to find a better future, Eril became another victim to the exploitation and inhumanity in the fishing industry. Eril’s sorrowful tale, as well as the others in the book, inspired me to produce music defined by a melancholy and hope — a melancholy drawn from the human pain and suffering, and ecological destruction unveiled through Ian’s reporting, but also a hope and optimism that this is reversible. Through the insight and wisdom The Outlaw Ocean provides a desire for change may be sparked and a reconsidering of the lifestyles we accept.

About Melorman

Melorman is the alias of Athenian electronic artist Antonis Chaniotakis. His sound is instantly recognizable, and his music is often described as warm and commanding, seeking to inspire nostalgia and create emotional imagery through sound.

The Journalism behind the Music

All music in this project is based on The Outlaw Ocean, a New York Times Best-Selling book by Ian Urbina that chronicles lawlessness at sea around the world. This reporting touches on a diversity of abuses ranging from illegal and overfishing, arms trafficking at sea, human slavery, gun running, intentional dumping, murder of stowaways, thievery of ships and other topics.

Learn More